Head space

My wonderful partner took the kids away this weekend to spend some Quality Time with Grandma and Grandad (and, more importantly, Grandma’s puppy).  I was left to my own devices, with strict instructions to relax and find some inner peace already.  I confess I’ve not been functioning at anywhere near my best for quite a horribly long time now, so this was a great opportunity to stop playing Blind Man’s Buff with my life and get my mojo back.

I started my weekend by thinking on one quote from the ever-inspiring Eleanor Roosevelt;

“Do one thing every day that scares you.”

Doing nothing scares me.  Wasting time scares me.  Not getting everything done scares me.
But I ended up my weekend with quite a different quote, although also from Eleanor. More on that at the end, but what of my three (yes, a three-day weekend, ain’t it great?) days alone?  I think I can sum it up in two lists.

What I did this weekend:

  • Lay in the sunshine in the Botanical Gardens.
  • Went to my first Rollerderby bout
  • Walked in the park
  • Did my embroidery in the Botanical Gardens
  • Watched a mediocre film
  • Cleaned the bathroom
  • Made lemon chocolate brownies
  • Untangled my life-plan
  • Went to an art exhibition I thought I wouldn’t like
  • Ate Chicken Kiev
  • Remembered what’s really important.  And what really isn’t.

What I didn’t do this weekend:

  • Worry about being back in time to do dinner
  • Worry about heading home from the park before the kids got tired and fractious
  • Tidy the house
  • Stop my day at regular intervals to make sure everyone gets breakfast/snack/lunch/dinner/a drink
  • Feel guilty about wasting a good evening watching a mediocre film
  • Check the vegetarians/chicken-carers didn’t mind me eating the flesh of a slaughtered hen
  • Keep checking the time
  • Grocery shopping, with or without children in tow
  • Sort out any arguments
  • Make sure I only did/saw/went to things I knew would be brilliant, because anything else would a waste of valuable babysitting
  • Keep my head so full of mundane, essential tasks there was no room for anything else.

Yeah.  Now that’s inner peace already.  I know where I’m going now.  Still not entirely sure how I’ll get there, but hey, I only had three days, I think I did pretty well!

“I think that somehow, we learn who we really are and then live with that decision.”

About Disobedient Child

Digger, through and through. Also tagged as artist, crafter, voluntary worker, procrastinator View all posts by Disobedient Child

Leave a Reply

