Practice makes perfect

I thought I’d share this with you; it’s my ongoing sampler.

Last year I decided I’d love to be able to do ‘free embroidery’. I’ve been doing cross stitch for a while, but it has its limits. I got myself a book of stitches (Mary Thomas’ Dictionary of Embroidery Stitches, if you’re interested – it’s pretty good actually), and just started working through it. Nothing scientific, I just draw stuff on with a pencil or biro, and then stitch over it.

I think I’ve got stem stitch, split stitch and fishbone stitch pretty much sussed now, but of course I’ll keep practising.

Feather, satin, chain and split stitch



Fishbone and stem stich

It’s just an old napkin, and it doesn’t matter if I get it wrong sometimes, that’s how you learn. The lack of pressure (it’s not a gift, and I don’t need to unpick mistakes) makes it a creative and relaxing pastime – much like practising a musical instrument I guess, though easier on the ear ๐Ÿ˜‰

This week I will be working on improving my satin stitch. ย  Do you have anything you’re improving at the moment? ย Please share!

Satin stitch and French knots

About Disobedient Child

Digger, through and through. Also tagged as artist, crafter, voluntary worker, procrastinator View all posts by Disobedient Child

3 responses to “Practice makes perfect

Leave a Reply

